Ten Commandments The Ten Commandments of the Bible

Jewish (Talmudic)* Ten Commandments

The Ten Commandments appear twice in the Torah. Initially, in Exodus chapter 20, verses 1 through 17. They appear a second time in Deuteronomy chapter 5, verses 4 through 21.

  1. I am the Lord thy God
  2. You shall worship no other gods beside me
  3. Do not take the name of your Lord in vain
  4. Remember the Sabbath and keep it holy
  5. Honor your father and mother
  6. You shall not kill/murder
  7. You shall not commit adultery
  8. You shall not steal
  9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor
  10. You shall not covet your neighbor's house, nor his wife

* The "Talmudic Division" is the grouping used by modern Judaism, and dates back to the third century. The "Philonic Division", dating back to the first century, is taken from the texts of Philo and Josephus. In their writing the first commandment ends after verse 3 and has the second commandment as verses 4-6.

ESV Illuminated Bible Buy on Amazon Ignatius Catholic Study Bible Buy on Amazon KJV Holy Bible Buy on Amazon See the full list of Recommended Bibles.